SEX IN THE COUNTRY: Women in Wheelchairs Get Sexy Spin

I haven’t posted in a while because I broke both my feet about a month ago. It’s kind of a logistical nightmare, having two broken feet, and also incredibly painful.  As a result, I’ve been in a wheelchair for a month. Talk about a change in perspective.  Nothing has jolted my paradigm this dramatically since my husband wore a turban – in Los Angeles after 9/11.  It’s been like visiting a foreign country.

As crap as my situation is, however, I’m incredibly grateful it’s temporary.  It’s very difficult figuring out everything you do from a wheelchair, and mercifully I don’t have to because I can wait it out another month. I don’t drive or carry much; I can’t exercise. It’s frustrating, but the end is in sight.  Extraordinarily, about a week into my injury, I noticed a new show on Sundance called Push – a reality show about hot chicks permanently confined to wheelchairs.

Naturally, it being reality television, the show is mostly about the girls getting laid.  But I happened to catch an episode in which they were purchasing a birthday cake.  The two girls have a car outfitted for the handicapable, in which everything is done by the hands, so they are able to drive there.  Once they arrive, they enter the shop up a ramp and wait to talk to the salesman.  One of the girls is very flirtatious with the guy, but when he offers to help carry the cake out, the girls refuse.  My husband thought that was weird, because the next scene showed them tag teaming across the street, the cake in their laps wobbling like mad.  They succeed, and there’s a palpable sense of victory there.  It made sense to me: even in my temporary state, I get fatigued receiving help, and want to do things on my own, even if it’s difficult or seems just out of reach.

My personal experience has been that men don’t look at women in wheelchairs.  If they do look, they look through them.  Several men have done this to me in the last month, including men I know.  It seems it’s not a very sexy position, unless you meet a wheelchair fetishist.  It’s funny – if you’re in a relationship with someone and she happens to end up in a wheelchair, you’re expected to stay with her.  But if you pick up on someone in a wheelchair, it seems unsavory, predatory.

The girls are all sexually active, and they’re all disabled rights’ activists, determined to show the world how normal they are.  Unlike many reality shows, this one is really driven by its four main characters real life trials and tribulations, not scenarios manufactured by a room of producers.  The idea, they say, is to break down prejudice, much like Little People, a reality show about dwarfs on TLC. I hope it works.

This entry was posted in SEX IN THE COUNTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

